September: What Our Editors Are Reading

Continuing the meme tradition from last month, here’s another gem (which I hope people think today):

Our editors have picked up vastly different types of literature this month. From fiction to philosophy to opinionated pieces, it’s all there. Since we’re spread out around the world, there’s a lot of different tastes in the mix. I hope you all enjoy and pick up one of these fabulous reads!

Me:

leave me.jpg

As I picked up a few books for my brother for his upcoming birthday, I also purchased this book: “Leave Me,” by Gayle Forman. You may be familiar with her other young adult books, “If I Stay” (which has been adapted into a movie), and its sequel, “Where She Went.”

This is apparently Gayle’s first adult fiction book, and it’s been a good read, judging by what I’ve read so far. The main character, Maribeth Klein, is a hard-worker with twin children and not much time on her hands. If the blurb gives any insight, it says that “Leave Me” is for any mother who has considered not going home to her many commitments. I’m expecting a compelling read.

Rebecca:

raisins and almonds.jpg

It’s been more than a year since I first discovered the Australian Broadcasting Corporation’s adaptation of the Phryne Fisher murder mystery series, but I picked up one of the original novels by Kerry Greenwood for the first time at the library last week. I’ve been reading Raisins and Almonds – Greenwood’s book about Zionism in Melbourne in the 1920s – and while at first I was worried that Miss Fisher on paper couldn’t live up to Essie Davis’ performance of the character, I quickly realized that the wit and liveliness of the show was pulled directly from Greenwood’s writing style. I highly recommend this book for mystery lovers, period-piece devotees, social justice warriors, and those who yearn for the Roarin’ Twenties. If you don’t fall into any of those categories, you may find that once you pick up one of Greenwood’s novels, you’ll end up a convert.

Katie:

sartor.jpg

In my English Literature class, we are currently covering Victorian Literature. Never having heard of this piece, or even author before, I set out on an adventure of reading excerpts from Thomas Carlyle’s “Sartor Resartus”. Immediately blown away by the calibre of philosophical content, I was far from deterred by its archaic language and historic references.

“Sartor Resartus” Is Carlyle’s pseudo-biographical manifesto of his journey with faith, during a time of extreme tumult – the Industrial Revolution. During this time, every ideal held close became decimated. “How can the ‘Son of Time,’ in any case,” he observes, “stand still?” With the technological progress came the inevitability of societal change. Life transformed into a monotony of ‘cogs in a machine’ and the overarching strength of an unquestioned Christianity was destroyed. Carlyle examines this shattering in his piece, using his own experience of Unbelief as the medium of exploration.

Throughout Carlyle’s work, he pens deeply inquisitive statements, such as the following: “How then could I believe in my Strength, when there was yet no mirror to see it in.” Through this, he comments on the importance of one’s accomplishments as a mirror of one’s self. He asserts that accomplishments give man dignity, make man humane. Carlyle sees this in himself, but also England as a whole. 

Carlyle’s piece journeys through trials and temptations given the new nature of society, echoing cries for a Christian morality, both society’s and his own, being overshadowed. “Sartor Resartus” is filled with wonderful snippets of wisdom, still applicable almost 200 years later. If you’re looking for a deep commentary on the use of faith, Thomas Carlyle is definitely one to check out.

Shonavee:

never.png

I recently have been reading a few articles on why millennials are choosing to not have children. I find it a really interesting topic because the responses are really varied and thought out, and many have reasonable concerns about procreating. There are many articles which take a really serious approach to the topic, listing the various impending ecological disasters or just the general shitty state of the world, and others that take a more satiric approach. I absolutely loved this article by Isabelle Kohn, ‘9 Brutally Real Reasons Why Millennials Refuse to Have Kids’. What I love most about this particular article is how the author just doesn’t hold back at all and raises valid points that I have either thought of before or that I really relate to as someone of that age group who doesn’t want children. No matter what side of the fence you sit on in regards to children and having them, I think everyone will be able to appreciate the brutal hilarious honesty in this particular article.

 

Leave a Reply

